What You Need to Know Getting A Medical Cannabis Card In Naperville Illinois
As of June 30, 2018, the Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) approved applications for approximately 40,000 qualifying patients (including 274 persons under 18 years of age), since the Medical Cannabis Registry Program began accepting applications on September 2, 2014.
With cannabis laws changing so rapidly, however, many people are struggling to keep up with what’s legal and what’s not.
This can be especially puzzling as laws and regulations relating to recreational and medicinal smoking vary from state to state.
Not to mention, the extensive requirements for medical cannabis programs’ qualification. Most people are left wondering how to go about the application process. So, here’s all you need to know about the Illinois Medical Marijuana Application and how to get your medical marijuana card in Naperville Illinois:
How to Get Medical Marijuana Card in Naperville Illinois
Here are the steps to follow while applying for the medical marijuana card in Naperville Illinois:
1.Physician Certification Form
The first step to qualifying for a medicinal marijuana card in Naperville Illinois is to discuss with our doctors about the chances of using cannabis under a qualified medical condition of the state.
After establishing that medical marijuana is a viable treatment option for your condition, our physician then completes a Physician Certification Form. He/She will then mail it to the Health Department’s Division of Medical Cannabis.
The recommending physician is also required to provide supporting documents. These documents show you’re diagnosed with a qualifying debilitating medical condition or a terminal illness.
Another important thing to note is that your visit to the physician should be within 90 days after you’ve submitted your application.
2.Complete The Patient Application
After the Physician Certification Form is filled out and mailed by our certifying physician, what next? Well, you should then complete the Marijuana Card Application Form.
As a prospective patient, the form requires that you select a medical marijuana dispensary. This is where you’ll be getting your cannabis products.
If necessary, you can designate a caregiver who’s responsible for getting cannabis from the dispensary on your behalf.
Some other details to fill out include the name and address of your recommending physician.
3. Pay the Application Fee
As a potential patient, you can choose a one, two, or three-year registry ID card. The non-refundable application fees include:
- $100 for 1 year Card
- $200 for 2 year Card
- $250 for 3 year Card
If you’re a veteran or enrolled in Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or Social Security Disability Income (SSDI) program, the application fee to pay is as follows:
- $50 for 1 year
- $100 for 2 year
- $125 for 3 year
Patients with a prognosis of six months or less due to a diagnosed terminal illness can apply for a medical cannabis card a no fee. The card is valid for six months.
If you require a caregiver, ensure that you submit a caregiver application. Then submit along with the other necessary documents and pay the accompanying fee of $25.
You’ll also need to submit a passport photo taken within the last thirty days. The photo should display your full-face facing the camera and with a solid colored background.
Consider visiting your local passport photo vendor to ensure your passport photo meets the requirements.
5.Proof of Residency
To prove Illinois residency, you’ll need to submit two items of proof. Some of the acceptable forms of proof include copies of your voter ID card, bank statements, driver’s license, or utility bills.
6.Proof of Identity and Age
Proof of age and identity typically entails providing colored copies of your passport, driver’s license, or Illinois State ID.
If you’re a veteran, who receives health care services from the Veteran Affairs Facility, you’re required to submit a 12- month medical records instead of the Certification Form. You should as well provide your DD214 discharge form.
8.Marijuana Card for Minors
A qualifying patient should be under 18 years of age. The qualifying minor is required to have an adult caregiver or guardian.
The caregiver is responsible for applying for medical cannabis card on their behalf. The minor patient should also have two physicians; the reviewing and recommending physician.
In case qualifying minors turn 18 years of age before their registry identification card validity ends, they may choose to apply for an adult registry ID card at that time or wait until the normal renewal time reaches.
Until expiration dates, the registry identification card, however, remains subject to the conditions applicable to the qualifying patient under age 18.
After you’ve completed and compiled all of the required documents, you’ll then need to send them via mail along with the application form to Illinois Public Health’s Division of Medical Cannabis.
Other Requirements on Illinois Medical Marijuana Application
You shouldn’t have been convicted of a formerly excluded offense. These include a felony under the Illinois Community Protection Act, the Cannabis Control Act, Methamphetamine Control, and Controlled Substances Act.
You shouldn’t be an active firefighter, correctional officer, duty law enforcement officer, or probation officer. You also shouldn’t hold a public driver’s license or a school bus permit.
Follow the Legal Process and Get Your Medical Marijuana Card Illinois
With that in mind, Illinois medical marijuana application shouldn’t be a challenging process for you.
Ensure that you have all the necessary documents in possession for a hassle-free application.
According to Illinois marijuana law, you’re allowed to purchase usable cannabis products of up to 2.5 ounces.
This is from approved dispensaries within 14 days. However, if you find the 2.5 ounces isn’t enough for you, your physician can petition the Public Health Department to increase your limits.
In addition to cannabis legalization for qualified patients, in 2016, Illinois also legalized pot for all its residences.
Rather than getting charged with a misdemeanor crime due to cannabis possession, people get charged a $200 fine for having 10 grams or less.
Book an appointment today with one of our qualified physicians in Illinois to help you in getting your medical marijuana card.