Medical Cannabis Certifications in Michigan
Make your health and wellness priorities. Don’t let the uncertainty of where to begin with the medical marijuana certification process hinder your journey toward a better quality of life. For residents of Michigan, Compassionate Clinics of America is the first step to a rewarding path toward health and wellness.
We are proud to offer easy, efficient, and affordable Medical Cannabis Certifications in Michigan.
Have you been thinking about a medical marijuana card but feeling hesitant to start the process? Let Compassionate Clinics of America help. We have the swiftest turnaround in the state, connecting you to a network of qualified physicians and health care practitioners that will help you through the process of obtaining your medical marijuana certification in Michigan. We recommend you take advantage of our patient education series where we regularly upload helpful articles on research to help you in your medical cannabis journey.
Telemedicine Appointments Available
Access qualified healthcare practitioners that will walk you through the medical cannabis certification process from the comfort of your home. Our network of prescribing practitioners are registered within the state of Michigan to provide you with your medical cannabis certification. Click the button below to access our online form to book your appointment.
Qualifying for a Medical Cannabis Certification in Michigan
In order to get a medical cannabis recommendation and legally purchase cannabis products from dispensaries in Michigan, some basic qualifications must be met:
Along with having one or more of the qualifying conditions, a patient applying for a Michigan medical marijuana card must also prove their residency with a valid driver’s license or state identification card.
Once you have seen the Compassionate Clinics of America healthcare provider and have been approved for your medical cannabis certification, you can begin the application to register for the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP) with the Marijuana Regulatory Agency.
After creating an account, you will need to verify your address and submit proof of Michigan residency in the application form. Acceptable forms for proof of residency include:
- a state driver’s license number
- personal identification (PID)
- a signed Michigan voter registration. If using your voter registration, then you’ll also need to provide an additional valid government-issued document with your name and birthdate.
You will also need to provide the Michigan physician license number, your physician certification, and pay the $40 fee for the state application, which must be renewed annually at the same cost. If a patient has Medicaid or receives SSI, they are eligible for a reduced card cost of $25 annually.
Caregiver Information for Michigan
A primary caregiver must be at least 21-years-old and not have a felony conviction.
A primary caregiver, like the patient, must first prove Michigan residency before applying for a card. Michigan accepts either a current driver’s license or state identification card as adequate proof. Expired forms of identification are not accepted. The caregiver must be added to the patient’s registration to be considered.
The cost for a caregiver card is $40, recently reduced from $60 in 2019. Caregivers are not required to pay for a criminal background check.
Get More from Your Medical Cannabis Certification in Michigan
One of the biggest parts of medical cannabis is getting to understand how your body responds to different types of cannabis products and cannabinoids, to help you tailor your medical cannabis experience to your desired outcomes. Using DNA testing, we examine your specific DNA biomarkers to determine the right strains and dosage for your specific genes and metabolism. Our test kits are available for purchase on our website. This unique service is designed to maximize the potential of medicinal cannabis for each individual patient.
More Information on Medical Cannabis Certification in Michigan
Possession and Cultivation of Medical Marijuana in Michigan
In Michigan, the state allows any adult to possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana on their person, with up to 15 grams of it being marijuana concentrate.
A resident is allowed to possess up to 10 ounces of cannabis for medical use at their residence but any amount over 2.5 ounces must be kept in a container until use.
Possession of more than 2.5 ounces of marijuana and up to 5.0 ounces of marijuana is a civil infraction punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and forfeiture of the marijuana for a first offense.
An adult may transfer up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana to another adult as long as there is no remuneration and the transfer is not advertised or promoted to the public.
Michigan now allows citizens to grow marijuana even if they are not medical marijuana cardholders. Adults 21-years-old or older may now legally grow up to 12 plants.
The cost for a medical cannabis certification in Michigan is $139. The renewal fee for a medical cannabis certification is $99. Compassionate Clinics of America offers Sezzle as a payment plan for certifications and renewals.
Questions About Medical Cannabis Certification in Michigan?
Feel free to connect with us anytime at [email protected] or call us at (833) 532-8300.
For Frequently Asked Questions specific to the Michigan medical cannabis program, visit their website at the link below:
Cannabis Regulatory Agency FAQ (scroll down for patient/caregivers FAQ)