Medical Cannabis Certifications in California
Make your health and wellness priorities. Don’t let the uncertainty of where to begin with the medical marijuana certification process hinder your journey toward a better quality of life. For residents of California, Compassionate Clinics of America is the first step to a rewarding path toward health and wellness.
We are proud to offer easy, efficient, and affordable Medical Cannabis Certifications in California.
Have you been thinking about a medical marijuana card but feeling hesitant to start the process? Let Compassionate Clinics of America help. We have the swiftest turnaround in the state, connecting you to a network of qualified physicians and health care practitioners that will help you through the process of obtaining your medical marijuana certification in California. We recommend you take advantage of our patient education series where we regularly upload helpful articles on research to help you in your medical cannabis journey.
Telemedicine Appointments Available
Access qualified healthcare practitioners that will walk you through the medical cannabis certification process from the comfort of your home. Our network of prescribing practitioners are registered within the state of California to provide you with your medical cannabis certification. Click the button below to access our online form to book your appointment.
Qualifying for a Medical Cannabis Certification in California
While California’s open policy allows all residents 21 and over to purchase cannabis legally, specific medical prescriptions may only be available to patients with qualifying conditions. Having a medical cannabis license due to a disorder also gives further protection against arrest and privacy.
Based on California Proposition 215, also known as the Compassionate Use Act, disorders and conditions that make a resident eligible for the program include:
- Cachexia (Wasting Syndrome)
- Chronic pain
- Persistent muscle spasms (including but not limited to spasms associated with multiple sclerosis)
- Seizures (including but not limited to epilepsy)
- Severe nausea
- Any type of chronic or ongoing medical symptom that either:
- (1) “Substantially limits the ability of the person to conduct one or more major life activities as defined in the federal Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990” (Public Law 101-336).
- (2) If not alleviated, may cause serious harm to the patient’s safety or physical or mental health.
Get More from Your Medical Cannabis Certification in California
One of the biggest parts of medical cannabis is getting to understand how your body responds to different types of cannabis products and cannabinoids, to help you tailor your medical cannabis experience to your desired outcomes. Using DNA testing, we examine your specific DNA biomarkers to determine the right strains and dosage for your specific genes and metabolism. Our test kits are available for purchase on our website. This unique service is designed to maximize the potential of medicinal cannabis for each individual patient.
More Information on Medical Cannabis Certification in California
The cost for the card in most counties statewide is $100 a year; however, in Sacramento, patients with proof of Medi-Cal benefits only pay $50 a year.
You’ll have to start with filling out the application form for the Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) Program. Then to complete your application you must include copies of the following items:
- You must be 18 years old and provide proof of identity. A valid government-issued state ID or driver’s license. You can also use a U.S. Passport or Veteran’s Administration cards.
- Next, you’ll need to provide proof of residency in California. This can be a vehicle registration, utility bill or rental/mortgage receipt. The proof should show your name and current California address.
- You need to be diagnosed with a qualifying condition from the list above.
- You must provide a written medical marijuana recommendation from your doctor that medical cannabis use is necessary for one or more serious medical conditions.
- Non-refundable application fee of $100 (or $50 for Medi-Cal beneficiaries.) Acceptable forms of payment are cash, credit, debit, cashier’s checks, money orders–no personal checks are accepted.
Information for Primary Caregivers
Caregivers must also apply for a medical cannabis license like the patients they monitor. To be eligible for caregiver status, a person must have proof of California residence with a state license or identification card, live in the same county as the patient, and agree to be photographed.
California defines precisely what a caregiver must be to the patient to be considered for a card. Based on the law, a caregiver in the state must be a parent or guardian if the patient is under 18, consistently responsible for the patient’s well-being, help assist the patient with administration if necessary, and must not be the primary care physician of the patient.
Possession and Cultivation Limits in California
Branded perfectly, SB 420 and SB 94 revised the original Compassionate Use Act passed in 1996, amending some of the provisions. Based on the bill, both patients and caregivers are legally allowed to grow or possess up to 12 immature or 6 adult cannabis plants at time. Under no circumstance is a patient or caregiver allowed to sell the cannabis they cultivated or possess since a license to do so is necessary.
Every California county has their own local codes and zoning laws regarding the amount of cannabis patients in their district can cultivate or possess, which is important information for patients to seek out before growing or purchasing the plant. Additionally, patients and caregivers have the right to travel with a certain amount of cannabis, and if confiscated upon a vehicle stop or arrest, the patient or caregiver is legally entitled to have the property returned. Some California cities and counties prohibit cannabis sales and cultivation, which is why it is important to know the local ordinances in which a patient or caregiver resides.
Adults may also be involved in the home cultivation program in California. In their cars, legal customers can carry marijuana, but it must be in a closed container or in the trunk. Marijuana plants must be kept in a closed room which is not publicly noticeable.
Recreational Marijuana Taxes in California
23.25% and up (15% excise tax + 7.25% sales tax + 1% local tax,
before additional municipal taxes up to an additional 15%)
Medical Marijuana Taxes in California
15% excise tax + municipal taxes
The cost for a medical cannabis certification in California is $49. The renewal fee for a medical cannabis certification is $35. (Note if you have a Growers Card in California, the cost for a medical cannabis certification is $149, and the renewal fee is $134).
Compassionate Clinics of America offers Sezzle as a payment plan for certifications and renewals.
Questions About Medical Cannabis Certification in California?
Feel free to connect with us anytime at [email protected] or call us at (833) 310-1003.
For Frequently Asked Questions specific to the medical marijuana program in California, visit: