Is cannabis legal in New Jersey?
Medical marijuana has been legal in New Jersey since 2010. Registered patients with a medical marijuana card can obtain cannabis for medical purposes from licensed dispensaries, also known as Alternative Treatment Centers.
The program is maintained by the New Jersey Medicinal Cannabis Program, formerly known as the New Jersey Medicinal Marijuana Program.
The program falls under the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission and is regulated by the Medical Cannabis Act. A New Jersey medical marijuana card is referred to as a Medicinal Cannabis Patient Card or MCP Card. A certification from a licensed marijuana doctor is referred to as an Authorizing Provider Statement.
Those with an NJ medical marijuana card may purchase up to 84 grams of cannabis for every 30-day period from an Alternative Treatment Center, which is commonly known as a dispensary. It is important to note that it is not legal to grow medical marijuana or be in possession of a cannabis plant in New Jersey.
On November 3, 2020, New Jersey residents voted in favor of Public Question 1, which legalized the recreational use and possession of cannabis for individuals aged 21 and older. The legislation allows for the regulated cultivation, processing, and sale of cannabis products.
Despite recreational cannabis being legal within the state of New Jersey, there are several benefits to participating in the state’s medical cannabis program.
Do I need a doctor’s referral to get a medical card?
In order to get a medical marijuana card in New Jersey, you must have one or more of the qualifying medical conditions, have New Jersey residency, and obtain an Authorizing Provider Statement from a licensed medical marijuana doctor.
Who qualifies for a New Jersey medical marijuana card?
Approved qualifying medical conditions for the New Jersey Medicinal Cannabis Program include:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Chronic pain
- Inflammatory bowel disease, including Crohn’s disease
- Intractable skeletal muscular spasticity
- Multiple sclerosis
- Muscular dystrophy
- Opioid Use Disorder
- Positive status for Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) and Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Seizure disorder, including epilepsy
- Terminal illness with a prognosis of less than 12 months to live
- Tourette Syndrome
You must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition by a New Jersey healthcare practitioner registered with the New Jersey Medicinal Cannabis Program.
How do I get a medical marijuana card in New Jersey?
To become a medical marijuana patient in New Jersey and participate in the medical marijuana program, there are a few steps:
First, check if your healthcare provider is a program participant or you may find a licensed medical marijuana doctor at Compassionate Clinics of America;
Through a visit to a medical marijuana doctor through telehealth, obtain an Authorizing Provider Statement with patient reference number and registry ID numbers to open up your account as a new patient.
You will also be required to choose an Alternative Treatment Center (aka. a dispensary) for cannabis purchases.
Set up an account with a recent photograph and proof that you are a New Jersey resident. You will also need to provide a current New Jersey Identification (i.e. New Jersey driver’s license) or two proofs of residency (e.g., utility bill, tax document, property tax bill). To see more about the proof of residency requirements, see the Cannabis Regulatory Commission website.
For reduced fee eligibility, you will need to provide proof of government assistance.
What are the benefits of having a medical cannabis card in New Jersey?
Having a medicinal cannabis card in New Jersey provides several benefits for individuals who require cannabis for medical purposes.
Getting a medicinal marijuana card offers legal protection to medical marijuana patients to purchase up to 84 grams of cannabis for every 30-day period.
With a medicinal cannabis card, patients gain access to regulated and tested cannabis products from licensed dispensaries known as Alternative Treatment Centers. These establishments ensure quality control, providing patients with a reliable source of safe and consistent medicinal cannabis. They can choose from a variety of strains, forms (such as flower, edibles, or topicals), and potencies tailored to their specific medical needs.
Medical cannabis patients often have access to a broader range of cannabis products compared to recreational users. This includes products with higher concentrations of cannabinoids like THC and CBD.
As of July 1, 2022, medical cannabis in New Jersey is sales tax free. This means that those who possess a New Jersey medical medical marijuana patients do not have to pay the 6.625% sales tax that recreational users have to pay for their cannabis products. This can result in significant cost savings for qualifying medical patients.
How much does it cost to get a medical cannabis card in New Jersey?
The cost to register for marijuana card in New Jersey’s Medicinal Cannabis Program is $50, and is valid for two years.
However, individuals who qualify for certain categories can obtain their New Jersey medical card for a reduced fee of $20.
These categories include senior citizens aged 65 and older, military veterans (with submission of DD-214 Form), individuals receiving Social Security Disability (SSD) or Supplemental Security Income (SSI), those with a letter from SSA.GOV (with “Verification of Benefits”), participants in the NJ Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), recipients of NJ Temporary Disability Benefits, individuals with Medicare (over the age of 65), and those with NJ Medicaid.
The cost for a medical cannabis certification (Authorizing Provider Statement) in New Jersey is $159. The renewal fee for a medical cannabis certification is $119.
We offer Sezzle payment options to break up the cost into separate, affordable payments.
How long is my New Jersey medical cannabis card valid?
Medical marijuana cards and cardholder’s registration in the state’s medical marijuana program is valid for a period of two (2) years.
When can I renew my ID card?
The earliest you can initiate the renewal of your medical marijuana ID card is 60 days before your card expires.
Please be aware that it can take up to 30 days to process your registration and a few weeks to receive your card in the mail, so patients are advised to initiate the renewal process at the beginning of this renewal period window.
What is required for medical marijuana patients to renew their card?
In order to renew your card in New Jersey and remain in the medical cannabis program, you must obtain another certification from a licensed medical marijuana doctor (Authorizing Provider Statement).
After obtaining a reference number from your attending physician, log in to your New Jersey patient registry account and select the renewal option to complete the process.
I’ve heard that I can get a renewal of my medical cannabis card in New Jersey for $20. Where can I get a $20 medical card renewal?
While some companies may claim that a medical card renewal in New Jersey is only $20, it’s important to note that no such provider exists.
The renewal fee for a medical cannabis certification is $119 in New Jersey, and when you work with Compassionate Clinics of America for your renewal, we are with you throughout every step of the process of renewing your card.
I live in another state, can I apply?
Yes! A medical cannabis patient from another states may register for a nonrenewable, six-month MCP card (Medicinal Cannabis Patient Card) for use during their stay in New Jersey. Out-of-state patients will need to consult with a registered New Jersey healthcare practitioner who will enroll them in our registry.
They will need to use the reference number and registry ID number they get from the provider and a current copy of their registration in their home state’s program to set up an account in our patient portal.
What are the rules regarding medical marijuana use in New Jersey?
Being a registered Medicinal Cannabis Program (MCP) patient comes with a responsibility to be compliant with New Jersey cannabis-related laws and regulations.
Adherence to the law will minimize health risks, and prevent legal infractions.
- Patients and caregivers should carry proper identification, including MCP cards, at all times.
- Medicinal cannabis should be kept in its original labeled packaging.
- Patients are encouraged to use medicinal cannabis only at home.
- Keep medicinal cannabis at home and only transport it when absolutely necessary. Understand that the smell cannabis could attract law enforcement attention.
- Do not share your dose with anyone. Medicinal cannabis is intended solely for the consumption of the registered patient.
- Do not smoke on federal lands, or in federal buildings.
- Do not smoke in a private vehicle in motion.
- The law does not currently permit home grow. Patients and caregivers are not permitted to grow cannabis or be in possession of a cannabis plant.
- Do not operate an automobile, aircraft, railroad train, stationary heavy equipment or a vessel while under the influence of medicinal cannabis.
- Do not transport medicinal cannabis across state lines.
- Return unwanted medicinal cannabis to an ATC. The person returning the cannabis for disposal should present a valid registry identification card, a New Jersey driver’s license or other state-issued photo ID.
Are registry identification cards from other state medical marijuana programs valid in New Jersey?
New Jersey is a state that offers medical cannabis reciprocity. Those who hold a medical marijuana card from another state may use their card to participate in the New Jersey medical marijuana program for a period of six (6) months.
How long does it take to process my application?
Within 30 days, the New Jersey’s medical marijuana program will contact you via email with your approval information.
If approved to the state’s medical marijuana program, you will then be required to pay the $50 state registration fee and your card will come in the mail in 7-10 business days.
If you are renewing your application, be aware of the time that it takes to get re-approved and be sure you book an appointment with one of our medical marijuana doctors well in advance of your card’s expiry date.
Will I be given a temporary card while my application is being processed?
No, unfortunately a medical marijuana patient will not be issued a temporary medical marijuana card. It is advised that you are aware of your card’s expiry date, as well as the 30-day application approval period so to ensure you’re able to legally obtain medical marijuana.
Can I own a gun and have a medical cannabis card in New Jersey?
Unfortunately, New Jersey adheres to federal law, which opposes both gun ownership and cannabis use, whether for medical or recreational purposes. Those possessing both firearms and cannabis can incur significant fines and penalties in the US. In New Jersey, there’s been no public discussion about reconciling gun rights with medical marijuana use. It seems that, for now, the state’s firearms and marijuana laws cannot coexist, leading to potential serious legal consequences.
Can a doctor complete a medical marijuana certification via telehealth?
Yes! When you start the process to get a medical marijuana card with Compassionate Clinics of America, it is done completely over telehealth!
Provide any medical records to support that you live with a qualifying medical condition during your appointment and the doctor will discuss with you whether you will benefit from participating in the New Jersey medical cannabis program.
When does the physician certification expire?
The certification from a doctor that states you will benefit from medical marijuana is valid for the duration of the medical marijuana identification card, which is two (2) years.
You will need to have a physician recertify that you live with a qualifying medical condition to renew your card. It does not have to be the same doctor that has provided a certification in the past.
Questions About Medical Cannabis Certification in New Jersey?
Feel free to connect with us anytime at [email protected] or call us at (888) 611-4820.
For Frequently Asked Questions specific to the New Jersey medical cannabis program, please click this link: