Is cannabis legal in Oklahoma?
At present, cannabis is illegal for recreational use; however, medical marijuana use is legal for those who have obtained medical marijuana cards, which are called “Patient Licenses” within the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority.
Citizens of Oklahoma voted in 2018 via referendum for the legal right to purchase medical marijuana, making Oklahoma the 30th state to institute a medical marijuana program.
Who qualifies for a medical cannabis card in Oklahoma?
Within the Oklahoma medical marijuana program, if a licensed medical marijuana doctor determines that medical marijuana will be beneficial for an Adult over the age of 18, they may fill out and sign an Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form. Oklahomans under age of 18 must get two physicians’ signatures using the Minor Patient Physician Recommendation Form. A medical marijuana recommendation may be obtained from Compassionate Clinics of America. Conditions that our medical marijuana doctors assess include, but are not limited to:
- Chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Muscle spasms
- Wasting syndrome
Oklahoma offers the following types of medical marijuana cards:
Oklahoma residents age 18+. Valid up to 2 years.
Non-Oklahoma residents of any age* with a state-issued medical marijuana license. Valid up to 30 days.
Oklahoma residents of any age*. Valid up to 60 days.
Oklahoma residents age 0-17. Valid up to 2 years.
Oklahoma residents age 18+. Valid up to 2 years.
Do I need a doctor’s referral to get a medical card?
Yes, you need a doctor’s referral, which you can get from Compassionate Clinics of America. If you have a medical condition that you are concerned about and are interested in trying medical marijuana products, a qualified doctor will assess you through telemedicine, and determine whether medical marijuana will be beneficial for you. The will need to fill out and sign a Adult Patient Physician Recommendation Form in order for you to apply for an Oklahoma medical card.
Medical cannabis patients who need a designated licensed caregiver must ensure the physician signing the Physician Authorization Form completes the section that certifies a caregiver is needed. Along with their caregiver, they must also sign the Caregiver Designation Form.
How do I get an Oklahoma medical marijuana card?
Oklahoma residents can apply for a medical marijuana card online. Oklahoma residents age 18 and up are eligible for a medical marijuana card (aka. a medical marijuana adult patient license) with:
- proof of identity,
- proof of residency,
- an acceptable photo
- a signed Physician Recommendation Form (Adult Patient) from an authorized physician
Licenses are valid for two years.
Here are links to important forms needed to get a medical cannabis card in Oklahoma:
- Patient Application Checklist
- Photo Requirements
- Physician Recommendation Form (Adult Patient)
- Caregiver Designation Form
- Withdrawal of Caregiver Designation Form
What are the benefits of having a medical marijuana card?
Having a medical marijuana card is the only legal way to purchase and consume cannabis in the state of Oklahoma.
Under SQ 788 determines how much medical marijuana a patient may possess. Per medical marijuana laws, individuals who get a Medical Marijuana Card (Patient License) from the state of Oklahoma may consume marijuana legally and may legally possess up to:
- 3 ounces (85 g) of marijuana
- 6 mature marijuana plants (defined as plants that are in the budding stage)
- 6 seedling plants (defined as plants that are in the vegetative stage and are not yet budding)
- 1 ounce (28 g) of concentrated marijuana
- 72 ounces (2,000 g) of edible marijuana
- 8 ounces (230 g) of marijuana in their residence
Hashish is restricted in Oklahoma unless someone holds a patient license.
How much does it cost to get an Oklahoma medical marijuana card?
The standard application fee for a medical card in Oklahoma is $100, which is non-refundable. Patients who provide acceptable proof of Medicaid (SoonerCare) or Medicare enrollment or status as a 100% disabled veteran will pay a reduced fee of $20. Application fees must be paid by Visa, MasterCard, or Discover credit or debit card.
The cost of a new patient recommendation from a licensed medical marijuana doctor at Compassionate Clinics of America is $129; the cost of a medical marijuana patient renewal is $99.
We offer Sezzle payment options to break up the cost into separate, affordable payments.
What information and forms are required when a patient applies for a Medical Marijuana ID card?
To apply for a medical marijuana card online, you must provide the following documents:
- proof of identity,
- proof of residency,
- an acceptable photo
- a signed Physician Recommendation Form (Adult Patient) from an authorized physician that verifies that you will benefit from medical cannabis
Can I apply to administer medical marijuana to someone else?
Caregiver licenses are available to family members or assistants who regularly look after a medical marijuana patient for whom they are applying to be caregiver. Caregivers can buy, transport, possess and administer medical marijuana or medical marijuana products to up to five (5) licensed patients. Licensed adult patients may have only one designated licensed caregiver. Licensed minor patients may have up to two designated licensed caregivers.
More information on caregivers as well as medical marijuana for minors can be found on the website of the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority.
How long is a card valid for Oklahoma medical marijuana patients?
An Oklahoma medical marijuana card is valid for a period of two (2) years.
When can I renew my ID card?
The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority offers this helpful video on how to renew a medical marijuana card.
What is required for renewal?
To renew a medical marijuana card, medical marijuana patients must get a medical marijuana renewal from a medical marijuana doctor, which can be obtained from Compassionate Clinics of America.
I’ve heard I can renew my medical card in Oklahoma for $20. Where can I renew my medical marijuana card for $20?
Some companies may have made the claim that they can renew your medical marijuana card in Oklahoma for just $20, however, such a provider does not exist.
The cost of a medical marijuana card renewal is $99 with Compassionate Clinics of America. We are there with you every step of the process in renewing your medical card.
Can I use medical marijuana anywhere in Oklahoma?
Per the state’s medical marijuana laws, smokable forms of medical marijuana can be legally consumed by those with a medical marijuana card in any place that allows the smoking of tobacco products, while edible forms of medical marijuana can be consumed anywhere.
Since marijuana is still illegal under federal law those who get an Oklahoma medical cannabis card may not possess medical marijuana on federal lands or on tribal trust land.
Are registry identification cards from other state medical marijuana programs recognized by the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority?
Residents of other states who have state-government-issued medical marijuana patient licenses are eligible for Oklahoma’s 30-day adult or minor out-of-state patient licenses. Prescriptions or licenses issued by out-of-state medical providers are not honored for Oklahoma’s out-of-state licenses.
Out-of-state applicants must provide their state-issued medical cannabis patient license, an acceptable photo and proof of identity: digital color copies of the front and back of a state-issued driver license or ID card, or a U.S. Passport.
How long does it take to process my application?
State law requires OMMA to process patient license applications within 14 business days of the date the applicant submits it. OMMA will send applicants an email after the staff reviews the application. For approved applications, it takes one or two more business days to print the patient license identification card. Then OMMA mails the card to the patient by regular U.S. Postal Service first-class mail.
If an application is incomplete due to unclear or missing information or documents, OMMA sends the applicant an email stating the reason(s) it is incomplete. Applicants can log back in to their account to make corrections once they receive this email (but not before).
If an application is reviewed and denied because all requirements have not been met, OMMA will mail a denial letter stating the reason(s) within 14 business days of submission.
Will I be given a temporary card while my application is being processed?
No, those who have applied to get an Oklahoma medical marijuana card will have to wait until their card comes in the mail before they can purchase medical marijuana products.
Can I own a gun and have a medical cannabis card in Oklahoma?
Having a Medical Cannabis Card in Oklahoma does not disqualify you from obtaining a gun license. In accordance with the 2019 Oklahoma Statutes Title 63, being a medical marijuana patient or caregiver licensee does not restrict your ability to purchase or carry firearms, ammunition, or firearm accessories. Notably, your gun ownership status will not be inquired about when you apply for a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma.
The databases for handgun licensing (Self-Defense Act) and the medical marijuana program operate independently. While the federal government conducts background checks through the criminal background system (NICS), the state health department, which oversees the medical cannabis database, does not upload information to NICS.
Can a doctor complete a medical marijuana certification via telehealth?
Yes! A doctor from Compassionate Clinics of America can verify that your medical conditions qualify to participate in the medical marijuana program via telehealth. No offices! You can have a comfortable, safe conversation with a qualified doctor from anywhere. In the state of Oklahoma, there is no set list of medical conditions that qualify for the program; it is up to the doctor to determine whether you will benefit from medical marijuana in Oklahoma.
When does the physician certification expire?
The physician recommendation form is valid for the duration of the medical marijuana card. Medical marijuana patients are advised to be aware of their expiry date and be sure to renew in advance as it takes up to 14 days to process an application or renewal for a medical marijuana patient.
What other laws should I be aware of for medical marijuana in Oklahoma?
Those who hold a patient license should be aware of the other laws that govern medical marijuana in Oklahoma. For instance, unlicensed simple possession of up to 1+1⁄2 ounces (43 g) is now punishable by a misdemeanor conviction and a $400 fine.
DUI (driving under intoxication) penalties include being jailed for no less than 10 days or more than 1 year if: A person “has any amount of a Schedule I chemical or controlled substance, as defined in Section 2-204 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes, or one of its metabolites or analogs in the person’s blood, saliva, urine or any other bodily fluid at the time of a test of such person’s blood, saliva, urine or any other bodily fluid administered within two (2) hours after the arrest of such person.”
Non-licensed making of hashish is restricted, however, licensed medical users can make and possess these products.
There are several reasons that people benefit from having a medical marijuana card in Oklahoma. Contact Compassionate Clinics of America today to get the process started.
Questions About Medical Cannabis Certification in Oklahoma?
Feel free to connect with us anytime at (888) 611-4820 or [email protected].
For Frequently Asked Questions on the Medical Cannabis Program in Oklahoma, visit the state page at: