Is cannabis legal in Louisiana?
At present, cannabis for recreational purposes is illegal in Louisiana and is only legal if someone holds a Louisiana medical marijuana card. However, recreational possession of 14 grams or less has been decriminalized state-wide, punishable by a fine no more than $100.
In order to get a medical cannabis card in Louisiana, residents must obtain a medical marijuana certificate, in which a doctor registered in the state of Louisiana has verified you live with a debilitating condition. There is no official list of qualifying conditions in Louisiana.
In order to get a Louisiana medical marijuana card, Compassionate Clinics of America can help you with that first important step through an online evaluation while providing you medical education on cannabis products and how cannabis affects various medical issues and various medical conditions.
Louisiana’s medical marijuana program is regulated by the Louisiana Department of Health. Medical marijuana patients can legally purchase up to 2.5 ounces of raw cannabis flower every 14 days from state approved dispensaries.
Who qualifies for a medical cannabis card in Louisiana?
Louisiana medical marijuana law does not have a list of qualifying conditions or an actual physical medical card.
Instead, in order to participate in the program, a doctor must verify that you live with any condition where the consulting physician feels that medical cannabis may help.
You will then be registered with one of the licensed dispensaries where you can buy medical marijuana in Louisiana by showing your ID card.
Do I need a doctor’s referral to become a medical marijuana patient?
Yes, you need a doctor registered to practice medicine in Louisiana to verify you live with a condition for which they will recommend medical marijuana.
This will allow patients to legally purchase Louisiana medical marijuana at a state licensed dispensary.
How do I get a Louisiana medical marijuana card?
The Department of Health says to visit your physician to have them recommend medical cannabis for you, however, if you do not have a doctor, you can work with Compassionate Clinics of America to find a Louisiana medical marijuana doctor who can provide your medical marijuana certification.
They will ask some information about your medical history and your concerns and see if you qualify for a medical marijuana recommendation.
Qualified patients will be asked to choose one of the state-licensed dispensaries, which will be the only place you can purchase medical marijuana legal cannabis products from. We will take care of registering you within the state medical marijuana program registry. You will need your ID such as a state issued driver’s license at your chosen dispensary to verify you are a medical marijuana patient.
The process takes about 24-48 hours to complete.
What are the benefits of having a medical cannabis card?
Besides the multiple benefits that research and patient experiences are revealing about medical cannabis, there are several benefits to being registered in Louisiana’s medical marijuana program.
Besides being able to purchase medical marijuana products, you can legally possess medical marijuana. Louisiana medical marijuana laws also provide you protection in terms of employment or family law situations.
A medical marijuana recommendation from a medical marijuana doctor is just as valid as your other medical records and could protect you from a criminal record and prosecution.
Cannabis is still illegal per federal law.
How much does it cost to get a medical marijuana card in Louisiana?
The cost to have a doctor recommend medical marijuana for you is $199 for a new patient and $149 for a renewal.
We offer Sezzle payment options to break up the cost into separate, affordable payments.
You will not receive a Louisiana medical marijuana card, per se, but your ID will verify you are part of the program when you go to a dispensary that you have chosen with your doctor.
What information and forms are required when a patient applies for a Medical Marijuana ID card?
When you meet with a doctor to talk about medical cannabis, you can provide any medical records that document that you live with a condition that would qualify you for medical marijuana in the state.
Examples include the prescriptions you have, hospital or other doctors visits, medical history or we can also discuss receiving a diagnosis from one of our compassionate doctors.
How long is my ID card valid in Louisiana?
When you receive your certification to use medical cannabis in Louisiana, it is valid for a period of one (1) year.
When can I renew my ID card?
When you work with Compassionate Clinics of America have your medical marijuana card (be registered in the program) in Louisiana, you will be notified when it’s time to renew your certification so that you do not have a period where you cannot purchase medical cannabis products.
What is required for renewal?
You do not need to visit the same doctor to renew your medical marijuana recommendation.
Your renewal evaluation will be an online consultation much like when you first got your medical card in Louisiana.
Contact us today to book telemedicine appointments with a state licensed physician (sometimes referred to as an “mmj doctor”).
I’ve heard that I can renew my medical cannabis certification for $20. Where can I renew my medical cannabis certification in Louisiana for $20?
Please be advised that there are no medical providers that exist in Louisiana who will renew your medical cannabis card for $20. The cost to have your medical cannabis certification renewed in Louisiana is $149.
I live in another state, can I apply?
No, to visit a Louisiana dispensary, get a Louisiana medical card, or purchase medicinal cannabis, you must be a Louisiana resident, and cannabis reciprocity laws do not apply in the state.
How much medical marijuana can I purchase?
As of 2022, medical marijuana patients with a medical certificate can legally purchase up to 2.5 ounces of raw cannabis flower every 14 days from state-approved dispensaries.
Louisiana dispensaries will also have other medical marijuana products that a patient can integrate into their medical cannabis treatment.
Can I use medical marijuana anywhere in Louisiana?
The best place for medical cannabis use is in the safety and privacy of your own home.
Medical marijuana cannot be consumed anywhere in public in Louisiana.
It is not legal to consume near schools, nurseries, parks, or where children are. You cannot also use cannabis in federal buildings, hospitals, or other health care spaces.
Private landowners can prohibit the use of cannabis on their properties at their own discretion.
How long does it take to process my application?
The process for medical marijuana patients in Louisiana to get a medical marijuana card could not be faster.
Expect it to take 24-48 hours from the time you visit a medical doctor to when you can visit the Louisiana dispensary you have chosen from the list of approved Louisiana dispensaries.
Will I be given a temporary card while my application is being processed?
Since there is no official “medical marijuana card”, rather your ID allows you to get medical marijuana products from your chosen dispensary, there is no need to get a temporary card.
The process is very quick for a Louisiana doctor to certify patients and register them in the state program for medical marijuana.
Can I meet with a medical marijuana doctor via telehealth?
Yes! One of the best things about the certification process is that it is fully online and done from the comfort of your own home.
No doctor’s offices! Just have your medical records available documenting your medical condition so that the doctor can discuss whether you have a qualifying condition that they believe would benefit from medical marijuana in their medical opinion.
Can I have a medical cannabis card and own a gun in Louisiana?
No, individuals in Louisiana who have a medical cannabis card cannot own a gun without potentially violating federal law. According to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF), it is unlawful for anyone considered an “unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance” to possess firearms or ammunition. Under federal law, marijuana is classified as a Schedule I controlled substance, not recognized as a medication.
Therefore, even if Louisiana allows medical cannabis use, federal law still prohibits individuals who use medicinal marijuana from obtaining a firearms license or owning a gun. Louisiana’s legislation does not provide protections for medical marijuana patients regarding firearm ownership, aligning with federal law that restricts such individuals from purchasing and possessing firearms.
When does the physician certification for medical marijuana expire?
The physician’s certification to allow you to purchase legal medical marijuana is valid for a period of one (1) year.
Questions About Medical Cannabis Certification in Louisiana?
Feel free to connect with us anytime at [email protected] or call us at (888) 611-4820.
For specific questions about the Louisiana Medical Marijuana program, visit the state page below: