How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Missouri
Marijuana is becoming widely recognized as a medicinally useful herb to treat many conditions. More people than ever qualify for medical use of cannabis as legislators pass new laws, expanding medicinal marijuana’s use into new states.
History of Medical Marijuana in Missouri
In 2014, Missouri’s governor Jay Nixon, signed a law allowing for the use of CBD oil to treat seizures.
In the same year, the state decriminalized marijuana, reducing the criminal penalties for people carrying small amounts of marijuana.
In 2018, Missouri voters chose to allow medicinal marijuana by passing Amendment 2 on the ballot. This law also allows for medicinal cannabis patients to grow up to six of their own plants in a closed and locked facility. Now, Missourians with a number of conditions can get cannabis to treat their symptoms.
How to Apply for a Marijuana Card in Missouri
Step 1: Get Verified by a Doctor
To start, you will need an MD or doctor of osteopathy (DO) to fill out the Physician Certification Form. The form verifies that you have one of the qualifying conditions to receive an MMJ card in Missouri, according to a licensed professional. This form is for people requiring the standard dosage of four ounces or less of marijuana per month. If your doctor thinks you will need more than that, they need to fill out the Physician Certification Form With Recommended Amount.
Step 2: Fill Out Additional Forms if Needed
Depending on your situation, there may be a few other forms you need to fill out. If the marijuana is for a minor (someone under the age of 18,) then a parent or guardian needs to fill out the Parent/Legal Guardian Consent Form.
If you have a caregiver that you would like to handle your medicinal cannabis, you will also need to fill out the Patient Authorization Form.
Step 3: Register Online
The state of Missouri has set up a site to register all who wish to use cannabis medicinally, called Complia. This is the only way to apply for medical cannabis in the state of Missouri. Register at this site to begin the application process once you have all your forms filled out.
Step 4: Apply
Using the Complia system, fill out the correct application. If you are a patient who will use medical marijuana, fill out the New Patient Registration application. If you are a caregiver applying to handle a patient’s medicinal marijuana, fill out the New Caregiver Registration application.
Besides the previously mentioned forms, the application will also require:
- Your personal, identifying information (name, date of birth, social security number, mailing address, and e-mail address)
- Proof of residency in Missouri (usually a photo of a driver’s license, state ID card, car registration, or official utility bill)
- A photo of your state ID (if you used something else for your proof of residency)
- A clear photo of your face taken in the past three months
- A statement about whether you plan to grow your own plants
- A statement verifying your identity
- Your signature
There is also an optional statement about which programs for low-income Missourians you take part in, if any.
The application can take up to 30 days to process before you get approved for your card.
Step 5: Pay the Fee
Patient and caregiver applicants must pay a $25 fee. If you wish to grow your own plants, you must pay a $100 fee.
Step 6: Receive Your Card in the Mail (Upon Approval)
Once the Missouri Department of Health approves you for a medical cannabis card, you will receive it in the mail. Then, you can use that card at any licensed dispensary in the state.
Who Qualifies for a Medical Marijuana Card in Missouri?
Any resident of Missouri qualifies as long as they are over the age of 18 and have a qualifying condition. Qualifying conditions for MMJ vary from state-to-state. In Missouri, conditions that qualify you for a card are:
- Migraines (but only if they have not responded to other treatments)
- HIV or AIDS
- Any terminal illness
- Any condition that causes chronic pain or muscle spasms including Parkinson’s disease and multiple sclerosis
- Debilitating psychiatric disorders (only if diagnosed by a psychiatrist)
- Any chronic condition usually treated with addictive substances, where this could be a safer alternative
- Any other chronic, debilitating condition including but not limited to Crohn’s disease and hepatitis C
How to Get Certified For an MMJ Card With Compassionate Clinics
We make it easy to get certified by a doctor to get a medical cannabis card in three easy steps.
- Make an appointment. Call us at 888-372-0325 or schedule online. When you schedule your appointment, we will answer questions you may have. We will also let you know about any records we may need to verify your condition and help you get them, or get them for you.
- The consultation. Once your appointment begins, you will fill out some forms. Then a doctor will examine you and talk about your condition and history with you. This is also a great time to ask any questions you have about marijuana’s medical uses.
- Get your certification. Once the doctor verifies that you have a qualifying condition, they will fill out and sign the correct form, and you will be ready to apply for a Missouri Medical Marijuana Card online.
Here, we know the power of medicinal marijuana. Many of our own staff members got into patient advocacy and care because they have personal connections to medical cannabis, and have seen how this alternative treatment can help with a wide variety of conditions. If you’re ready to try medical cannabis, please contact us! We help you get certified for a medical marijuana card, and can also help you find the right products and dosage for you with a medical cannabis patient consultation. We can’t wait to help you!