Blog

Jan 11th 2022
Medical Cannabis Reciprocity

Medical Cannabis Reciprocity: What does reciprocity mean for patients?

For medical cannabis patients, going without medical cannabis is not an option for many. Patients must choose between breaking federal laws which prohibit interstate travel with cannabis versus suffering incapacitating health problems.

Medical cannabis reciprocity laws are necessary to protect the health and wellness of registered medical cannabis patients, ensuring that the can continue to medicate while away from their home state.

What does medical cannabis reciprocity mean for patients?

Medical cannabis reciprocity laws between states that have medical cannabis programs are straight forward. Patients that are traveling to a state that offers reciprocity, you will be able to use your card like you were in your home state.

It is important to note, some states have a more complex requirement. Be sure to check the requirements in your destination before traveling, some states like Hawaii patients are required to register as temporary visitors and pay a fee. Patients are then issued a temporary card for 21 days. In Hawaii, visiting patients can obtain 2 visitor cards per year.

Here are the states that have reciprocity laws enacted or offer recreational cannabis use, making them safe travel destinations for medical cannabis patients.

Alaska

Alaska’s medical marijuana program does not recognize out-of-state medical cannabis cards.
Visitors can purchase up to 1 ounce of cannabis for recreational purposes in Alaska.

Arizona

Arizona provides limited reciprocity to those considered “visiting qualifying patients.” To be a visiting qualifying patient, visiting medical cannabis cardholder must not be a resident of Arizona or have resided in Arizona for less than 30 days. The cardholder must also match Arizona’s qualifying condition and home state, the list of Arizona qualifying conditions can be found here.

Recreational cannabis is legal to purchase in Arizona, with a possession limit of up to 2.5 ounces.

Arkansas

Patients visiting this state must obtain a medical cannabis visitor card from their health department.
Visiting patient cards are valid for up to 90 days.
Application linked here.

California

California does not recognize out-of-state medical cannabis cards, but don’t worry. Visitors to California can apply for a California medical marijuana identification card (MMIC).
Recreational cannabis is also legal in California, with a possession limit of up to 1 oz., or 8 grams of concentrate.

Colorado

Colorado residents may apply for the medical cannabis program, and Colorado doesn’t recognize out-of-state medical cannabis cards.
Recreational cannabis is legal in Colorado, with a possession limit of 1 ounce.

District of Columbia

Full dispensary access to any patient in possession of a valid medical cannabis card.

Georgia

Patients visiting this state with a valid medical cannabis card can ONLY POSSESS up to 20 ounces of low THC oil.
Visiting patients are NOT allowed to purchase medical cannabis in Georgia.

Hawaii

Patients visiting this state must obtain a medical cannabis visitor card* from the Hawaii State Department of Health.
Application portal linked here.
Medical cannabis visitor cards expire after 21 days.
Visitors can obtain two cards each year.
*Hawaii only grants visitor cards to patients with specific conditions. For a list of conditions, visit: Medical Cannabis Registry Program, Hawaii State Department of Health

Illinois

Illinois does not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards.
Recreational cannabis is legal in Illinois, with a possession limit of 15 grams of cannabis flower; 2.5 grams of cannabis; and no more than 250 milligrams of THC contained in a cannabis-infused product.

Iowa

Patients visiting this state that have a valid medical cannabis card can ONLY POSSESS up to 4.5 grams of THC.
Visiting patients are NOT allowed to purchase medical cannabis.

Maine

Full dispensary access to any patient in possession of a valid medical cannabis card.

Michigan

Full dispensary access to any patient in possession of a valid medical cannabis card.

Missouri

Patients with a valid medical cannabis card from other states can possess cannabis in Missouri.

Minnesota

Minnesota does not recognize out-of-state medical cannabis cards.

Mississippi

There are no laws regarding medical marijuana reciprocity established in Mississippi yet.

Montana

Montana recognizes other states’ medical marijuana cards. Dispensaries will check to see if your certification is valid, that you have a medical cannabis card, and your state ID.

Nevada

Full dispensary access to any patient in possession of a valid medical cannabis card.

New Hampshire

Patients visiting this state that have a valid medical cannabis card can possess up to 2 grams of cannabis.*
Visiting patients are NOT allowed to purchase medical cannabis.
*This protection only extends to patients issued cards for certain conditions. For a list of conditions, visit: New Hampshire Department of Health and Human Services

New Jersey

New Jersey does recognize other states’ medical cannabis cards. Patients registered under their states’ medical marijuana programs can receive reciprocity, providing them with qualifying patient status under New Jersey’s medical marijuana program for up to six months while they are visiting the state. Out-of-state medical marijuana patients may also get certified for cannabis by a New Jersey doctor.
Patients visiting this state that have a valid medical cannabis card can possess up to 2 grams of cannabis.*

New Mexico

Full dispensary access to any patient in possession of a valid medical cannabis card.

New York

New York does not have medical marijuana reciprocity with other states currently.

Ohio

Ohio does not have medical marijuana reciprocity with other states currently.

Oklahoma

Visiting patients must obtain a visitor’s card from the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority.
Application linked here.

Oregon

Oregon does not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards.
Visiting patients must obtain a visitor’s card from the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority
patients over 21 can purchase an ounce of cannabis at one of Oregon’s recreational dispensaries.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania does not recognize out-of-state medical marijuana cards.

Puerto Rico

Full dispensary access to any patient in possession of a valid medical cannabis card.

Rhode Island

Rhode Island does not recognize other states’ medical cannabis cards.

Utah

Visiting patient must obtain a medical cannabis visitor’s card* from the Utah Department of Health.
Application portal linked here.
User instructions here.
Visitor card expires after 21 days.
Visitors can obtain two cards each year.
*Utah only grants visitor cards to patients with specific conditions. For a list of conditions, visit: Utah Department of Health

Vermont

Vermont does not recognize other states’ medical marijuana cards.
Adults 21 and older who are not enrolled in the medical cannabis program may possess up to 28 grams of marijuana or 5 grams of hash for recreational purposes.
Adults 21 and older can also grow a maximum of two mature marijuana plants or four immature marijuana plants.

Virginia

Virginia does not recognize other states’ medical cannabis cards.

Washington

Washington does not have medical cannabis reciprocity.
Adults 21 and older with valid state identification can purchase up to one ounce of cannabis.

Share This Post

Medical Marijuana Cards, Medical Cannabis Certifications & Low Cost Medical Cannabis Certifications Pennsylvania, Illinois & Missouri

Cannabis ConsultationsMedical Cannabis CertificationsMedical Cannabis Certificates

Skip to content